2006• Friendship

>> Back to 2006 Awards

Marilyn Roycroft

Marilyn Roycroft has 30 years of experience in public affairs, government and education, strategic planning, public relations, and equity and social justice work.

She is Deputy General Secretary of the70,000-member Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO), the largest teachers' organization in the province. Marilyn oversees professional development, communications, equity and social justice programs and management of the support staff.

From 1986-1998, she handled media and government relations for the predecessor Federation of Women Teachers' Associations of Ontario (FWTAO).

From 1992-95, Marilyn was seconded to the Office of the Premier of Ontario as Director of the Public Appointments Secretariat. She worked with the Premier, Cabinet ministers and deputy ministers, recruiting and selecting candidates for governmental agencies, boards and commissions.

After graduating with an Honours BA and MA in political science from the University of Waterloo, Marilyn was a researcher with the New Democratic Party at Queen's Park from 1973-78. Later she was special assistant to Stephen Lewis and Michele Landsberg, and executive assistant to NDP Leader Bob Rae from 1981-85.

Marilyn, who is married and has two sons in university, was a board member and vice-president of the Social Planning Council of Metro Toronto from 1989-92, a member of the national fundraising committee of the Women's Legal, Education and Action Fund (LEAF) from 1985-92, a member of the Child Poverty Action Group from 1987-92, and campaign manager in more than 15 provincial and federal election campaigns and party leadership campaigns from 1973-95. She was active on the Lord Lansdowne Public School Council for 12 years and was co-chair from 1998-2002.

Currently, she is Secretary of the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors of the Lorraine Kimsa Theatre for Young People and chairs its Education Committee. She is the Vice Chair of LEAF and chairs its Nominating Committee, and a member of the Professional Breakfast Committee of the Canadian Women's Foundation. She is also an elected Director of the Canadian Education Association (CEA), and a member of its Nominations Committee and Whitworth Award Committee.